Ian McEwan

Author details

이언 매큐언, Иэн Макьюэн, Ian McEwan, and 32 others McEwan, Iyān Mikīwān, イアン マキューアン, Iyān Mākīwān, Iėn Makʹi︠u︡en, Ioannes McEwan, Ian Russell McEwan, Իեն Մաքյուեն, Ијан Мекјуан, Ian Maḳyuan, איאן מקיואן, Ian Mc Ewan, إيان ماك إيوان, イアン・マキューアン, Ians Makjuans, Ian MacEwan, ইয়ান ম্যাকইউয়ান, ايان ماك ايوان, Макьюэн, Иэн Макьюен, Ієн Мак'юен, Иън Макюън, ایان مک‌یوون, Ίαν ΜακΓιούαν, 伊恩·麦克尤恩, เอียน แม็คคิววัน, Ian Mac Ewan, イアン マッキューアン, 依仁·麥伊雲, Ен Мак’юэн, 伊恩·麥克伊旺, MacEwan
June 20, 1948

External links

Ian Russell McEwan, (born 21 June 1948) is an English novelist and screenwriter. In 2008, The Times featured him on its list of "The 50 greatest British writers since 1945" and The Daily Telegraph ranked him number 19 in its list of the "100 most powerful people in British culture".McEwan began his career writing sparse, Gothic short stories. His first two novels, The Cement Garden (1978) and The Comfort of Strangers (1981), earned him the nickname "Ian Macabre". These were followed by three novels of some success in the 1980s and early 1990s. His novel Enduring Love was adapted into a film of the same name. He won the Booker Prize with Amsterdam (1998). His next novel, Atonement, garnered acclaim and was adapted into an Oscar-winning film featuring Keira Knightley and James McAvoy. His later novels have included The Children Act, Nutshell, and Machines Like Me. He was awarded the 1999 Shakespeare Prize, and the 2011 Jerusalem Prize.

Books by Ian McEwan